sports

Olym-Picks: Which Summer Games events to watch on Sunday, Day 16

It's the last day, so catch some Olympic drama while you can

2012 London Olympics

2012 London Olympics

Credit: AP Photo

It's almost time for the closing ceremonies (catch them on NBC at 7:00 p.m.), but that doesn't mean you can't see a little more Olympic action before that. Here are a few events you may not want to miss (Team USA is sure to take the gold in basketball, duh). If you want to watch them live at nbcolympics.com (if you're not in the U.K.) or just wait for the prime time digest on NBC is up to you.

Men's basketball -- USA vs. Spain (watch live at 7:00 a.m., 10 a.m. ET)

Team USA's gonna win -- how could it not? Sorry, Spain. If you're interested, you can check out the bronze medal game (Russia vs. Argentina) at 3:00 a.m. PT.

Men's cross country cycling (watch live at 4:30 a.m. PT, 7:30 a.m. ET)

Anyone can win this. You know why? Crashes, one of which cost a female biker (defending gold medalist Germany's Sabine Spitz) the gold on Saturday, and flat tires, one of which ruined Norway's Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa podium chances. Who ever said cycling isn't exciting?

Women's modern pentathlon (watch live Saturday at 11:50 p.m. PT, 4:35 a.m. PT and 6:35 a.m. PT Sunday0

Not familiar with modern pentathlon? It was almost struck from the Olympics in 2009 for its lack of international appeal, and was eventually cut down from five events to four to stay in the program. Things start out with fencing, move on to swimming, then riding, followed by a running/shooting combo. And if the athletes can keep all that straight, they've got a shot at winning.

Rhythmic gymnastics (watch live at 5:30 a.m. PT, 8:30 a.m. ET)

The finalists will compete with five balls, followed by three ribbons and two hoops to determine the group all-around medalists.

Men's marathon (watch live at 3:00 a.m. PT, 6:00 a.m. ET)

Watch the guys run. And run. And run. And hopefully this wraps up before the closing ceremonies.

Men's water polo (watch live at 2:20 a.m. PT (final round classification), 6:30 a.m. (medal finals)

Team USA got knocked out long ago, but you can watch Serbia and Montenegro fight out for bronze. Later, the Italians go up against Croatia for the gold medal.

Liane-bonin-starr-sm
Liane Bonin Starr is an author, screenwriter and former writer for EW.com. Her byline has appeared in the Los Angeles Times, Variety and a lot of other places. Her last book was called "a scandalously catty, guilty pleasure" by Jane magazine. Expect the same from Starr Raving.
Around the Web