New Music

The Shins - "Port of Morrow" Rock

The Shins' first studio album in five years is the first to be released through James Mercer's own Aural Apothecary label, and features an all new backing band that includes fellow songwriters Jessica Dobson and Richard Swift, Modest Mouse drummer Joe Plummer, and Yuuki Matthews from the Crystal Skulls.


  • James-mercer-mr.-cool_article_story_main
  • Jessica-dobson-of-the-shins_article_story_main
  • The-shins_article_story_main
  • Shins_article_story_main
  • James-mercer-performs-with-the-shins_article_story_main
  • The-shins-port-of-morrow_article_story_main

HitFix Reviews and Ratings

  • B-
    The Shins’ “Port of Morrow” runs into the same problems that albums like those from the New Pornographers or of Montreal do. There is a calculation and formula to great pop songwriting, and its expert writers sometimes struggle to distinguish each song as an individual work. There’s only small windows of spontaneous possibilities, like the predictable pinch-hits of Nels Cline when a Wilco song gets lost.

More Details

Released - Tuesday, March 20 , 2012

1. The Rifle's Spiral
2. Simple Song
3. It's Only Life
4. Bait And Switch
5. September
6. No Way Down
7. For A Fool
8. Fall Of '82
9. 40 Mark Strasse
10. Port Of Morrow