New Music

Michael Franti and Spearhead - The Sound of Sunshine Rock

Michael Franti and Spearhead - The Sound of Sunshine

Michael Franti was the visionary behind, and voice of, Beatnigs, Disposable Heroes, and Spearhead. The Sound of Sunshine (not to be confused with the identically titled 1975 record by KC and the Sunshine Band) is Franti's seventh studio album under the Spearhead banner (add that to two solo records, live albums, inumerable collaborations, and the discographies of his previous bands and feel unproductive, my friends...).

Franti's styles have included industrial, hip-hop, rock, folk, and on and on the list goes. His lyrics are passionate, personal and political. Sound of Sunshine promises to be "bright, beautiful and often buoyant".


  • Michael-franti_article_story_main
  • Michael-franti_article_story_main

More Details

Released - Tuesday, September 21 , 2010
1. The Sound Of Sunshine
2. Shake It
3. Hey Hey Hey
4. Anytime You Need Me
5. I'll Be Waiting
6. The Only Thing Missing Was You
7. Love Don't Wait
8. The Thing That Makes Me Get Through
9. Gloria
10. Headphones
11. The Sound Of Sunshine Going Down