New Music

Gil Scott-Heron - "The Revolution Begins: The Flying Dutchman Masters [Box Set, Import]" Pop

(3-CD set) The three albums that Gil Scott-Heron recorded for Bob Thiele's Flying Dutchman label are among the most important in black music history. They showed a multi-talented artist coming to full fruition with his first efforts on wax. The Revolution Begins contains every piece of music he released for the label from 1970-1971. In recent years Gil has become a lauded as one of the all-time greats. This music is the reason why.

More Details

Released - Monday, December 3 , 2012

Disc: 1
1. Lady Day And John Coltrane
2. Home Is Where The Hatred Is
3. Save The Children
4. The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
5. Did You Hear What They Said?
6. Pieces Of A Man
7. Speed Kills
8. Everyday
9. I Think I'll Call It Morning
10. When You Are Who You Are
11. Free Will
12. Or Down You Fall
13. The Needle's Eye
14. The Middle Of Your Day
15. A Sign Of The Ages
16. Who'll Pay Reparations On My Soul?
Disc: 2
1. Introduction / The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
2. Whitey On The Moon
3. No Knock
4. Small Talk At 125th & Lenox
5. Billy Green Is Dead
6. Sex Education: Ghetto Style
7. The Vulture
8. The Prisoner
9. ...And Then He Wrote Meditations
10. Plastic Pattern People
11. The Get Out Of The Ghetto Blues
12. Artificialness
13. Ain't No New Thing
14. Brother
15. Evolution (And Flashback)
16. The King Alfred Plan
17. Enough
18. Paint It Black
19. Omen
20. Wiggy
21. Comment #1
22. The Subject Was Faggots
Disc: 3
1. Did You Hear What They Said? (Alt Take 1)
2. The Middle Of Your Day (Alt Take 1)
3. Free Will (Alt Take 1)
4. The Get Out Of The Ghetto Blues (Alternate Ending)
5. Speed Kills (Alt Take 3)
6. The King Alfred Plan (Alt)
7. No Knock (Alt)
8. Wiggy (Alt)
9. Ain't No New Thing (Breakdown Take)
10. Billy Green Is Dead (Alt)
11. ...And Then He Wrote Meditations (Alt)
12. No Knock (Breakdown Alt Take)
13. Free Will (Alt Take 2)