New Music

Elbow - Build a Rocket Boys! Pop

 Build a Rocket Boys! is the fifth studio long player from one of the most politely anthemic sounding bands in the world, England's Elbow. Rocket! follows the band's The Seldom Seen Kid, which came out in 2008 and was also self-produced. Build a Rocket Boys! is released on Fiction/Polydor records and was trailed by the single "Neat Little Rows", with its sinister hook line, "Lay my bones in neat little rows". 

Elbow is the the kind of band whose beautifully crafted music generates oceans of opinion and text, so it falls to this little corner of HitFix Nation to ignore the tunes for a moment and ask the important questions: Will the absence of a vocative comma hurt sales? Or will Elbow's success hurt the vocative comma? Only time and observant grammarians will tell. But really, couldn't they have called it "Build a Rocket, Boys!"?


  • Elbow_article_story_main
  • Elbow_article_story_main
  • Elbow_article_story_main
  • 20090802_047_article_story_main

More Details

Released - Tuesday, April 12 , 2011


  • "The Birds" – 8:03
  • "Lippy Kids" – 6:06
  • "With Love" – 4:12
  • "Neat Little Rows" – 5:39
  • "Jesus Is a Rochdale Girl" – 3:18
  • "The Night Will Always Win" – 4:24
  • "High Ideals" – 5:39
  • "The River" – 2:51
  • "Open Arms" – 4:53
  • "The Birds (Reprise)" – 1:31
  • "Dear Friends" – 5:01