New Music

Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse - Dark Night of the Soul Pop

Mark Linkous' death earlier this year was indeed tragic and untimely. His music, recorded as Sparklehorse, a lives on.


Dark Night of the Soul, his latest (and final) project is a collaboration with Danger Mouse (see also: Gnarls Barkley, Broken Bells, Danger Doom, etc.) is, as you might expect, a melancholic affair of reverby vocals, highly textural soundscapes, and heart-breaking melodies. Guest vocalists feature on nearly every track and include the also recently departed Vic Chestnutt, as well as Nina Persson of the Cardigans, Iggy Pop and, um, David Lynch.


  • Twin-peaksdavidlynch_article_story_main
  • Davidlynchonlocationtwinpeaks_article_story_main
  • Dangermouseadele_article_story_main
  • David-lynch-twin-peaks_article_story_main
  • David-lynch-twin-peaks_article_story_main
  • Miley-cyrus-and-flaming-lips-performed-on-conan..._article_story_main

More Details

Released - Tuesday, July 13 , 2010
1. Revenge (featuring The Flaming Lips)
2. Just War (featuring Gruf Rhys from Super Furry Animals)
3. Jaykub (featuring Jason Lytle from Grandaddy)
4. Little Girl (featuring Julian Casablancas from the Strokes)
5. Angels Harp (featuring Black Francis from The Pixies)
6. Pain (featuring Iggy Pop/lyrics by Iggy Pop)
7. Star Eyes (I Can't Catch It) (featuring David Lynch)
8. Everytime I'm With You (featuring Jason Lytle from Grandaddy)
9. Insane Lullaby (featuring James Mercer from the Shins/Broken Bells)
10. Daddy's Gone (featuring Mark Linkous from Sparklehorse and Nina Persson from The Cardigans)
11. The Man Who Played God (featuring Suzanne Vega)
12. Grim Augury (featuring Vic Chestnutt)
13. Dark Night Of the Soul (featuring David Lynch)