New Music

Bright Eyes - The People's Key Rock

Bright Eyes - The People's Key

 Conor Oberst has toured recently under his own name, and has apparently decided to retire the Bright Eyes monicker for good, along with the rootsy American sound for which he's best known. The People's Key, then, is a contemporary rock record, and is released on Oberst's birthday through his own Saddle Creek label.

"Shell Games" and "Haile Selassie" have both been available for free download from the Saddle Creek website as teasers for the album.



  • Bright-eyes_article_story_main_article_story_main
  • Bright-eyes_article_story_main
  • Bright-eyes_article_story_main
  • Bright-eyes-the-peoples-key-feb.-15_article_story_main
  • Monsters-of-folk_article_story_main

More Details

Released - Tuesday, February 15 , 2011
Official Website


1. "Firewall"   7:17
2. "Shell Games"   3:56
3. "Jejune Stars"   4:10
4. "Approximate Sunlight"   4:25
5. "Haile Selassie"   4:33
6. "A Machine Spiritual (In the People's Key)"   4:20
7. "Triple Spiral"   3:51
8. "Beginner's Mind"   3:55
9. "Ladder Song"   3:58
10. "One for You, One for Me"