New Music

Gov't Mule - By A Thread

Their first studio album in three years, 'By A Thread' finds the Mule, lead guitarist and frontman Warren Haynes, drummer Matt Abts, keyboardist Danny Louis, and bassist Jorgen Carlsson, adding a newfound shot of soul to their classic power-band sound. The band is currently on short break between legs of a massive worldwide tour, which will resume September 9th in Salt Lake City.

'By A Thread' was recorded largely in the Texas Hill Country at Willie Nelson's Pedernales Studio in 2009, the album's origins are apparent from the first track, "Broke Down On The Brazos," named after the nearby river, with a deep Texas stomp for the backbeat and featuring what Rolling Stone recently called "an incendiary duel with ZZ Top's Billy Gibbons." Perhaps less descriptively named, "Steppin' Lightly" is another burner, set off by the soulful vocals and mind-bending guitar work of Haynes.


  • Govt-mule_article_story_main
  • Govt-mule_article_story_main

More Details

Released - Tuesday, July 14 , 2009
Official Website

1. Broke Down On The Brazos 6:19
2. Steppin' Lightly 7:10
3. Railroad Boy 5:03
4. Monday Mourning Meltdown 8:08
5. Gordon James 3:48
6. Any Open Window 4:45
7. Frozen Fear 5:48
8. Forevermore 4:17
9. Inside Outside Woman Blues #3 9:04
10. Scenes From A Troubled Mind 7:23
11. World Wake Up 5:54