The New York Film Critics Online also jumped into the fun on a very busy day for the precursor circuit by handing "12 Years a Slave" its Best Picture award. "Gravity" helmer Alfonso Cuarón took Best Director while acting honors went to Chiwetel Ejiofor, Cate Blanchett, Jared Leto and Lupita Nyong'o: the consensus quartet at this stage, I think it's safe to say. Check out the full list of winners below.

Best Picture: "12 Years a Slave"

Best Director: Alfonso Cuarón, "Gravity"

Best Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor, "12 Years a Slave"

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, "Blue Jasmine"

Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto, "Dallas Buyers Club"

Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong'o, "12 Years a Slave"

Best Screenplay: "Her"

Best Cinematography: "Gravity"

Best Use of Music: "Inside Llewyn Davis"

Best Ensemble Cast: "American Hustle"

Best Animated Feature: "The Wind Rises"

Best Documentary: "The Act of Killing"

Best Foreign Language Film: "Blue is the Warmest Color"

Best Breakthrough Performance: Adèle Exarchopoulos, "Blue is the Warmest Color"

Best Debut Director: Ryan Coogler, "Fruitvale Station"

Top 11 Pictures
"12 Years a Slave"
"Before Midnight"
"Blue is the Warmest Color"
"Dallas Buyers Club"
"Inside Llewyn Davis"
"The Wolf of Wall Street"

Kristopher Tapley has covered the film awards landscape for over a decade. He founded In Contention in 2005. His work has also appeared in The New York Times, The Times of London and Variety. He begs you not to take any of this too seriously.