The Writers Guild of America (WGA) handed out top film honors to the screenplays of "The Grand Budapest Hotel" and "The Imitation Game" Saturday night. On the television side, "Louie" and "True Detective" were favorites, winning two prizes each.

Damien Chazelle's "Whiplash" competed in the original category at the WGA Awards, while the Academy's Writers Branch, in a rare move outside of guild designation, deemed it adapted due to the fact that a scene from the feature script was the basis of a short film that screened at the 2013 Sundance Film Festival. So if "The Imitation Game" is to go on to Oscar glory, it will have to compete with Chazelle's popular film for the first time this season at the Feb. 22 Academy Awards ceremony.

Additionally, presumed Best Picture frontrunner "Birdman" was not eligible for WGA (making it still significant competition with "Grand Budapest" in the original category), nor was "The Theory of Everything," which won the BAFTA prize. The BFCA awards went to "Birdman" and "Gone Girl" (which was not nominated for an Oscar), while the USC Scripter prize went to "The Imitation Game." Clearly, these races aren't settled yet.

Check out the full list of WGA winners below, nominees here and the rest of the season's offerings at The Circuit.

Original Screenplay
"The Grand Budapest Hotel"
Screenplay by Wes Anderson; Story by Wes Anderson & Hugo Guinness

Adapted Screenplay
"The Imitation Game"
Written by Graham Moore; Based on the book "Alan Turing: The Enigma" by Andrew Hodges

Documentary Screenplay
"The Internet’s Own Boy: The Story of Aaron Swartz"
Written by Brian Knappenberger

(TV winners and more on the next page.)

Kristopher Tapley has covered the film awards landscape for over a decade. He founded In Contention in 2005. His work has also appeared in The New York Times, The Times of London and Variety. He begs you not to take any of this too seriously.