LOS ANGELES (AP) — Academy Award-winning directors Kathryn Bigelow and Michael Moore have been elected to the board of governors that oversees the Oscars.

The academy announced Wednesday that Bigelow ("The Hurt Locker") and Moore ("Bowling for Columbine") were among 15 new or returning members elected to three-year terms on the board of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Joining Bigelow and Moore among first-time board members was Oscar-winning film editor Anne Coates ("Lawrence of Arabia").

Actor Ed Begley Jr. also was among those elected, returning to the board after a hiatus.

Bigelow's "Hurt Locker" won best picture and director at the Oscars last March. Moore's "Bowling for Columbine" won the documentary Oscar for 2002.


Copyright 2010 The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.